businessinternetdirectory(dot)com - reported as scam, are they?
September 16, 2008 at 1:10 pm, ScorpionoJezlad has joined DigitalPoint forums in december 2007, has 50 posts so this makes him post hungryless.
Jazlad wrote:
These guys are nothing but a joke.
My father was tricked into joining them when he started his business a few years ago.
Two years subscription on they’re phoning him repeatedly demanding he continue his listing. They’ve told him if he doesn’t pay again they’ll bill him £2000 (on his credit card details they have on file - he paid by cheque) for breach of contract and they even told me when I spoke to them today that his failure to continue the listing would result in them “taking his site off the internet” and removing him from all the major search engines. (thats right folks, didnt you know they own google?…)
The telephonist was rude, threatening and downright out of order.
My father doesn’t really understand the internet, i’m infuriated by their audacity.
They also claimed to have a Page Rank 9 site
http://www.checkpagerank.net/index.p…ry.com&links=1
Nothing but a lying bunch of scammers who prey on internet business beginners.
If this post breaches site protocol my infraction box has a few spaces.
I’m not going to affirm they are a scam, but if what he said is right and I’m not sure why he would lie, the whole harassing thing is definetly one of the worst attitudes I’ve found online keeping in mind that his father is someone with less internet information, he would get quite affected.
Should we consider this a scam?






Category 







VMOptions says:
On September 16, 2008at 11:54 pm
It’s really hard to determine if this is a scam without the full story. This is why DP moderators don’t get involved in disputes, because they don’t have all the info.
I don’t know where the PR 9 site comes in at. businessinternetdirectory (dot) com is a PR 3 site. In fact, just trying to locate anything in their search/directory returns no results. I don’t even know if the site is functional.
Maybe the complaint is legit, designed to harm another business, or is a poor attempt at link bait. Either way, the complaintent would not be out any money if they did a chargeback on their credit card.
Scorpiono says:
On September 17, 2008at 5:05 am
Hmm, linkbait - you might be right here, I never tought that in the first place.
Nale Simpson says:
On October 6, 2008at 2:12 pm
Im not too sure if this company is a scam. I only paid them about £289 for a listing with them and it seems to me its working, i have had few new leads recently through to me which have proved effective for my business. The site seems to be getting alot better recently and its also helped me with my rankings on google!
Webdesign and SEO says:
On October 20, 2008at 4:35 am
Not sure if this is a scam. I had one a letter from these guys when I turned my company from Sole Trader to Limited. They need to confirm details, and could I call them to setup it up? Looking on their website it’s just a directory. Nothing special about a directory these days.
As far as I can see they are only interested in selling you a high price listing, not helping you out.
On closer inspection it seems that when you put a new entry in companies house you automatically go on their list as a viable sell. So you get a letter.