Scorpiono.com recommends — Save 10% at GoDaddy.com - World's No.1 Domain Registrar

Domain name scammers - “Good” deals

Posted by Scorpiono | Scammers get pwnd | Tuesday 1 July 2008 10:50 am

2 days ago I’ve recieved this in my email, regarding to s5audi.com which I recently purchased.
The email comes from ngservices@phreaker.net - phreaker?!

sedo

Greetings! s5audi.com has been found via online auctions.

Please let us know the your price and we will consider it.

Our company is investing in High Tech and IT projects. Now the domain market is very attractive for us, since every business in the Internet requires a domain.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Anthony Stecker
Vice President
N G (The Next Generation) Services

I’ve replied back, I’m selling it for $500 USD - he agreed but..

500. Ok.
Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name?

Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.

Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It’s very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust. To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies. Please check this blog:http://domainmarket.007sites.com/Archive/419570.htm If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15% discount.
After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we’ll continue our negotiations.

What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else?
Hope we can come to an agreement fast.

Looking forward to your reply.

I’ve told him, you pay for the appraisal I sell, I’m not going to make any investment since you are the buyer.

We both need independent valuation first.
Sellers always provide buyers with valuations. This is a common practice.

I don’t trust $14 services like that GoDaddy’s valuation service. Nobody will do a research for $14. We need a real manual service.

I researched several companies and here are the results: I considered www.Afternic.com, but now it’s clear their service is not reliable enough.Just read this:
http://www.igoldrush.com/links3.htm”
Capsule Review: After lots of complaints, Afternic is no longer a recommended service. We will re-review the service in the near future.”

Another complaint http://www.out-law.com/page-1630

The whole scam attempt, is interesting, I’ve discussed with Rez (gamecheats.eu) a bit about this and did a few research, they are making me pay for appraisals and most likely the appraisal company is his or he is affiliated with. They aim for domains that sell for over $500 since a $50-60 buck appraisal is not much for the owner, but ta-da!

Scorpiono is a moafuckah

13 Comments »

Go Daddy  $6.95 .com sale 468x60
  1. Comment by Scorpiono — July 1, 2008 @ 1:05 pm

    Vancouver, Canada - 207.6.148.222

  2. Comment by Scorpiono — July 1, 2008 @ 1:16 pm

    213.140.225.228 - Koeln (IP of the scammer)

  3. Comment by Alex — July 1, 2008 @ 1:58 pm

    I got a similar e-mail:
    “Greetings! ****.com has been found via online auctions. Please let us know the your price and we will consider it. Our company is investing in High Tech and IT projects. Now the domain market is very attractive for us, since every business in the Internet requires a domain. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards,
    Anthony Stecker
    Vice President
    N G (The Next Generation) Services”

    Thanks for letting me know it was a scam :)

  4. Comment by Scorpiono — July 1, 2008 @ 2:17 pm

    My plesure Alex ;)

  5. Comment by ahmed — July 1, 2008 @ 5:28 pm

    i’m too
    recieved the same letter
    Thanks for letting me know it was a scam

  6. Pingback by Appraisal Scam | Avoid Domain Scams - Buy, Sell Domains Safely — July 5, 2008 @ 10:53 pm

    [...] I e-mailed him back, but I was immediately suspicious in part because the price of my domain was listed on Sedo. I googled him and found this: http://www.scorpiono.com/the-daily-…mers-good-deals [...]

  7. Comment by links — July 8, 2008 @ 2:36 pm

    I get a lot of those scam artists trying to sucker me into getting an appraisal. Thanks for writing this post. Everyone needs to be warned of these scammers.

    BTW, I use moniker for domain appraisals. One of the few recognized by the IRS.

  8. Comment by wayhm — July 8, 2008 @ 10:53 pm

    i had received the same letter,it’s a domain appraisals scam?

    —————————————————-
    Greetings!

    myoo.cn has been found via online auctions.

    Please let us know the your price and we will consider it.

    Our company is investing in High Tech and IT projects. Now the domain market is very attractive for us, since every business in the Internet requires a domain.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Regards,
    Anthony Stecker
    Vice President
    N G (The Next Generation) Services

  9. Comment by wayhm — July 8, 2008 @ 11:24 pm

    there is my other great domains
    setoo.com
    haiao.com
    laizi.com
    kuniu.com
    anrou.com
    laimeng.com
    alidoctor.com
    vinva.com
    chinaqb.com
    qiuye.com
    kaidisi.com
    haoze.com
    sumlong.com
    alikf.com
    alizzz.com
    alipw.com
    blune.com
    chinavoting.com
    sina2.com
    xixi365.com
    yingkelai.com
    yangtingna.com
    xmbobing.com

    i’d like to chat with some trade
    msn: daoku0592@hotmail.com

  10. Comment by Scorpiono — July 9, 2008 @ 8:12 pm

    Not sure how much this comment will help you sell, but I’ll keep it here, it’s 4 AM, too lazy to edit it.

  11. Comment by TANYA — July 13, 2008 @ 10:18 am

    I received the same e-mail. Definitely a scam!! Who should we notify of this scam to protect everyone else?

  12. Comment by Scorpiono — July 13, 2008 @ 11:01 am

    Just digg the story - check BOOKMARK at the bottom of the post. This should help others!

  13. Comment by Directory Submission — September 2, 2008 @ 1:40 pm

    just try to keep your personal email private and you will be fine :D

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment